In an interview in the early 2000s that resurfaced in The New York Times Presents: Framing Britney Spears, Spears was asked if she wanted to dance and sing forever, and her response about her pop career was telling: “I do that for fun. It’s not my life. I see myself in the future with my kids and my husband, and maybe [doing] this on the side.” Keep reading for more super sweet things the “Slumber Party” singer has said about being a boy mom.

How many kids does Britney Spears have?

Since welcoming sons her two Sean Preston and Jayden James Federline, with ex-husband Kevin Federline, in September 2005 and 2006, respectively, Spears has remained a doting presence in their lives, centering her own existence around theirs.

Britney Spears called her sons her “masterpieces”

In an open letter to her sons published in Time in 2016, Spears went right for the tear ducts. See her Mother’s Day missive below: God always comes to us in tiny whispers. I pray you always find his whisper and understand the true meaning behind following your inner voice as well. Always believe in yourself and know anything is possible. I pray dreaming awakens your soul to limitless possibilities. I hope the most precious mysteries of life stay with you always and you are never ashamed of how bright your light truly is. I hope you learn praying alone is when you are most connected to God, and know you are never alone. He is with you always. I pray you laugh, love and soar through your journey of life.

Britney Spears honored her boys on their birthdays

In September 2020, Spears honored her sons with a sweet, emoji-filled message on Instagram. “My two lil men’s birthdays are this week!!!!!! You guys are getting older and so big and are waaay cooler than me !!!!! I love you both to the moon and back,” she wrote, “and I hope all of your bday wishes come true and more!!!!!” A year earlier, she shared an adorable throwback photo of her and her then-toddler boys on the beach, writing, “Oh how they’ve grown… Mamma loves you guys very very much !!!! May you get all your bday wishes and more.”

Britney Spears has always made her sons her No. 1 priority

In a 2017 interview with PEOPLE, Spears made it clear that her boys were her priority. “My kids come first, always," she said. “There is nothing more rewarding than being a mom and watching my sons grow into young men. I am so lucky that I get to experience all of life’s adventures with them.” Spears added that she planned her entire schedule around her beloved sons and that she loves watching them play sports. “We have a lot of fun together. We love having a beach day together,” she said. As for the lessons she hopes to impart in her boys, she noted, “I have always taught them that beauty comes from within.”

She honors her sons’ talents and gifts

In a video from February 2018, Spears showed one of her sons (unclear which!) playing piano, captioning the clip, “A few weeks ago, my son sat down and started playing our piano. He’s never had a lesson a day in his life, so needless to say I started tearing up like a proud mom! My baby is like a lil Mozart!” A month prior, she posted a video of Sean Preston skateboarding, writing, “My son is fantastic!” She’s called herself a “typical proud skate mom” before. Spears also gushed about her sons’ gymnastics skills, which rival her own. She captioned a 2018 clip, “Love watching these boys succeed when they put their minds to something… even if they cheat on their pull ups.”

Britney Spears’ efforts to be a great mom add up

When it comes to motherhood, she puts in the work (b*tch!). Spears revealed to PEOPLE in 2015 that she’s hands-on when it comes to homework help, even if she may need some help with it herself. “They go to a really hard school, and this week we had three hours of homework [a night],” she said. “Some of it is hard for me. Next year when [Sean Preston is] in fifth grade, he’s going to be doing pre-algebra, and I’m taking classes so I know how to do it!”

Britney Spears wrote a song for each of her sons

When Spears was pregnant with Sean Preston Federline, she wrote and released fan-favorite song “Someday (I Will Understand).” The moving ballad included lyrics like “Someday I will understand / In God’s whole plan / And what he’s done to me / Oh but maybe / Someday I will breathe / And I’ll finally see / I’ll see it all in my baby.” For Jayden James, Spears penned and recorded “My Baby,” released on her Circus album in 2008. In the sweet tune, she serenades her youngest: “Tiny hands / Yes that’s you / And all you show / It’s simply true / I smell your breath / It makes me cry / I wonder how I’ve lived my life / ‘Cause without you / How did I get through / All of my days without you / Now living with you / See everything true / My baby it’s you / My baby.”

Britney Spears makes it clear her sons bring her more joy than anything in the world

Even through her dark times, Spears makes it obvious that motherhood brings her more happiness than anything in the world, praising her boys for making her laugh. Next, get to know Jennifer Lopez’s kids. 

Britney Spears  Kids  What She s Said About Sean Preston and Jayden James Federline - 69