“I know a lot of you are wondering, ‘Ooh, it’s gotta be an April Fools’ joke. He’s gotta be joking with the teeth. He must not’ve fixed that gap, it’s his signature,’” he said in the video. “I was surprised, to be honest with you at how many people were like, ‘No! Don’t get rid of the gap, it’s your signature!’ And I’ve always kind of looked at it that way, but I didn’t know so many people really cared.” “I appreciate all the love for the gap and you know I’ve had it for almost 50 years now and a lot of people out there would always say, ‘Yeah you make me feel good about rocking mine’ and everything else and I know it was a shocker to see it gone. But I just want to tell you guys that I appreciate all that love that you show and be you. Live the way you wanna live. Do what makes you happy, because I did and I am happy that I did it,” the TV personality continued, before pulling down his face covering to show off his gap! View this post on Instagram

A post shared by michaelstrahan (@michaelstrahan) “April Fools! Come on, man!” Strahan exclaimed. “The gap is here to stay for a little while. Not going anywhere anytime soon, so April Fools everybody!” “I had a good time. I actually feel bad, I feel really bad about actually not closing it after everything that I saw,” he added. “But the gap is here. The gap is not going anywhere for awhile. My momma likes it, so there you go, for you momma!” Strahan had us convinced earlier this week when he posted a video of himself at Smile Design Manhattan. In it, he explained to Dr. Lee Gause, “If I go home and say I’m going to do it, it’ll be  ‘Don’t do it.’ If I post, it’ll be ‘Don’t do it,’ if I talk to my friends, it’ll be ‘Don’t do it,’ if I talk to my business partners, it’ll be like ‘Don’t do it.’ But I’ve got to do what I want to do for myself.” Strahan called the moment “50 years in the making.” Upon checking out his gap-less smile, the former NFL player declared, “I love it. Holy f**k.” Smile Design Manhattan also shared a video of Strahan getting his veneers, writing: “No more GAP #mindthegap.” View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Smile Design Manhattan (@smiledesignmanhattan) On Wednesday, fellow GMA host Lara Spencer pointed out that Strahan’s video was shared “suspiciously close to April Fool’s Day.” She said, “Michael [was] not available for comment when I called him. He is currently on vacation and I will say it is suspiciously close to April Fool’s Day, so we will just have to wait and see that megawatt smile when Michael gets back to the show next week.” Strahan admitted to ELLE magazine in 2012 that he considered closing his gap in his 20s. “I was really close to closing it up. I was at the dentist having him do mock-ups. I thought about it, man,” he confessed. “There’s so much pressure to be perfect. You can fix everything now. For me, I made the conscious effort to say “This is who I am.” I’m not perfect. I don’t want to try to be perfect.” Strahan added, “At this point, I don’t think my kids would recognize me without it. They’d be like, “Who is this stranger in the house? Call 911!” Next, find out why Kelly Ripa hasn’t been on Live! lately. 

Did Michael Strahan Really Close His Tooth Gap or Was It April Fools  - 29